null Skip to main content Skip to footer content

History of Fourth of July

The Fourth of July, also known as Independence Day, is celebrated annually every year in the United States on July 4th. This day commemorates the day the United Colonies (now the United States) separated from Britain. When the Revolutionary War broke out in 1775, it was considered radical to try and break free from Great Britain until more colonists favored the idea, according to

The tradition of the 4th of July celebrations dates back to 1776 when Continental Congress voted for independence. Two days later on July 4, 1776, delegates from the 13 colonies adopted the Declaration of Independence. Though the voting actually took place on July 2, it wasn't declared until July 4th that America was now independent. Although celebrated every year, it wasn't until 1941 when it became a federal holiday.

President John Adams wrote a letter saying that the great anniversary festival should include parades, games, sports, guns, illuminations, and bonfires from one end of the continent to the other. In America, we celebrate our independence and freedom from British ruling with various festivities just like Adams wanted. We often have parades, family gatherings, fireworks, and make everything red, white & blue to represent our flag's colors and American pride.

Shop Independence Day